Baby Steps

documenting our journey to parenthood

We have a heartbeat!

on February 23, 2012

Yesterday, February 22nd, 2012 marked a very special day for the hubs and I. We had our first ultrasound appointment and got our first glimpse at the little Kinney bean! Soooooo teeeeeeeny tiny, but so incredibly amazing to see the beginning of a life growing inside me. The tech was able to locate the little bean right away and just as she turned on the speakers, we could hear the heartbeat loud and clear! That was by far the most amazing part! It just started to feel so real. Like this is actually happening now. DK grabbed my hand tightly and we asked the tech to print as many pictures as possible of the little Kinney bean. It’s a day I will never forget!

We met with the nurse afterwards and went through all the basic pregnancy questions. What to eat, what not to eat, what exercise is okay, what medicines I still need to take, etc. I felt pretty prepared going into it because I’ve done so much reading the last few weeks, but it was just so surreal to think that it actually all applied to ME now. Like I knew the rules existed, but now I actually have to follow them. For MY baby. We are truly blessed.

I’m officially 6 weeks and 4 days along as of today and the estimated due date is October 15th, 2012… Liz’s birthday! Now we’re just super anxious to tell our families!! We’ll probably end up telling them all before the standard 12 weeks, because that just seems like so far away, but we’ll wait to announce to our friends until after we hit that milestone.

In other pregnancy-related news, our dear friends the Hills announced they are expecting last night at small group! So exciting! I really had to bite my tongue for most of it because I just kept wanting to say ME TOO! but I resisted and channeled all my excitement and energy towards them. Praying over them and knowing that I will have a pregnancy buddy here is so cool!

2 more ultrasounds at RBA and then it’s graduation to the real OB! Next ultrasound is Tuesday the 6th. Hopefully our little bean is growing strong by then!

Leave a Reply

