Baby Steps

documenting our journey to parenthood

The thing about Food

on March 16, 2012

Since being pregnant, the one thing I’ve realized is that I’m not one of those pregnant women who lose their appetite. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. I’m ravenous ALL.THE.TIME. But then I eat, and five seconds later the thought of what I just ate makes me queasy. Here’s how it typically goes:

Q: Hey Becky, do you have any weird cravings now?

A: If cravings = wanting massive amounts of food, then yes. But strangely I do find myself wanting these things more often than my non-pregnant self would:

  • Sour gummy bears (particularly the variety only sold in the Orange County Airport – thankfully my mama is coming to visit this weekend and can bring me some!)
  • Strawberries
  • Clementines
  • York Peppermint Patties
  • Turkey sandwiches (probably because I’m banned from eating them so I want them even more)
  • Balance bars, specifically the chocolate kind
  • French fries
  • Sour cream
  • Peanut butter
  • La Croix sparking water, and when that’s not available, Club Soda with a lime has been my preferred drink of choice
Q: Is there anything that you can’t seem to get down anymore?

A: Why, yes. Even though for some reason I continue to try. Things I used to love but now make me gag include:

  • Avocados
  • Gum
  • Chinese food
  • Hummus and crackers
  • My prenatal vitamins (the gummy kind). Probably because they are nothing like my favorite sour gummy bears!
Q: What about pickles and ice cream?
A: I loved them both before I was pregnant, and I love them just the same now. Except not together. That would be weird. Although it is not weird for me to want a pickle because it’s salty, then immediately afterwards, want a bowl of ice cream because it’s sweet. I find myself doing that all day long. Salty, sweet, salty, sweet.
Q: What about your diet has changed the most?
A: Unfortunately, it’s gotten worse. I used to enjoy a lot of healthier things, but now I crave candy and chips. Because I can’t eat my favorite turkey sandwich anymore, I find myself getting a grilled chicken sandwich with fries. Or Chic-fil-A. Or tacos instead of the salad. My go-to snack of almonds has turned into saltines and peanut butter. Not a whole lot of nutrition in this new diet, and baby is going to be mad at me for that, so I better turn this boat around and start getting my eating on track! Not to mention, I’m not even 10 weeks along and my pants already don’t fit.
Shame on me.
Leave a Reply

