Baby Steps

documenting our journey to parenthood

Almost 33 weeks…

on August 24, 2012

Sorry for the blurry, crummy, bathroom photos this week. I really ought to have some decent maternity pictures taken. Anyway, here I am in all my pineapple-sized-baby glory at nearly 33 weeks!

Size of baby: One site says she’s about the size of a pineapple, and another says a honeydew. I like honeydew, so let’s go with that.

Movement: She’s found the right side of my rib cage and I think she’s doing pull-ups on them. She’s moving a lot,  but sometimes it’s subtle and I don’t notice it and other times I have alien like appendages popping out in weird places.

Cravings: Chocolate. Water. Pasta. Mangoes and nectarines.

Annoyance: No complaints really, other than me just being tired all the time which results in lots of lazy evenings. I should be exercising or something, but I’m not. Although, wait, I did go to prenatal yoga class last week! That was, well, interesting…

Highlight of the week: Surprise shipment from Grandpa Doug with some of our fun registry items on them! And also we’ve started our classes, toured the hospital, and met the pediatrician, so I feel like I’ve actually accomplished a lot this week which is helping with my anxiety (and my to-do list). In other news, Harrison also moved out to Colorado this week to start his college career as a Buffalo! I’ve been praying rigorously for him to be receptive and open to this new experience. I wish I could be there to help him move in his dorm!

Non-Highlight of the week: One of my tenants at work continues to tell me how having this baby is going to wreak havoc on my marriage. Maybe having children did that for him, but he knows nothing about my personal life and I don’t appreciate those comments from the peanut gallery. I have an incredibly amazing and supportive husband who is my BEST FRIEND and I would be completely lost without.

Fears: In Baby Essentials class, I realized that neither DK nor I are very good at swaddling. And that’s just one of MANY things we’ll have to learn. We just still have so much to learn and that totally freaks me out. I just want to protect my baby and have a healthy little girl!

Nursery: The crib and dresser are here, her baby bedding is in, and it’s starting to look like a baby girl room! I’ve also been busy crafting, and made her some artwork and am currently working on a really, really time consuming but adorable rug. We’re tackling a DIY cornice this weekend, and I’ve made some other fun purchases off etsy that I’m waiting to arrive. I’ll have to post pictures when it’s all done.

Signing off, and feeling good!

Leave a Reply

